Why Guns are Good – Gun Control (Part 2)

The Second Amendment of the Constitution, proposed to Congress on June 8, 1789 and ratified over two years later on December 15, 1791, says, “A well regulated militia being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the People to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed.”

 

I think history is an important thing to keep in mind when discussing gun control.  Where did our country come from, and why did the founders think it was important to give the people a right to own guns?  You may have gathered by now that my background is in science, not history.  So I can’t give you a lot of details, but I’ll tell you what I know.  Colonists came from Europe to America; there were 13 colonies with their own laws and rules.  They found themselves burdened by taxes they didn’t want to pay, as well as a host of other grievances they listed in the Declaration of Independence.  (They hated taxes and intrusive government enough to start a war over it; they must have been conservatives.)  So they started a war, or an illegal rebellion, against their government.  They won.  They established a free country with no income taxes, freedom of religion, and a Declaration of Independence stating that our unalienable rights come from God (“our Creator”), with the government’s role being to protect those rights from being infringed.  They knew, from personal experience, that governments were capable of exercising unrighteous control over their subjects.  They also knew that in this case the people had a right, a duty, to fight back, as stated in the Declaration of Independence.

Can you tell me how the people are to fight an abusive government without guns?

Many people argue that the founding fathers couldn’t have predicted the weapons that exist today.  They say that the founding fathers had muskets, and when they gave the people the right to ‘bear arms’ that’s what they were referring to.  If we look at history, what they gave us was the right to have as much firepower as the government, in order to be equally matched in the case that the people needed to rise up and throw off a dictatorship.  Right now we do not have that.  Many weapons the government, military and law-enforcement possess are illegal to own, buy, sell, or make for civilians.  When my husband was in the military he trained on an M-16, a gun not available to civilians.  In 1994 Assault Weapons were banned for manufacture, possession and importation.  Guns owned before the ban are grandfathered, but any guns manufactured after the ban are for military, police and government use only.  This, obviously, give the government more power than the people.  Was this law to protect the people?  Before 1994 less than 1% of homicides involved an assault weapon.  That percentage has not changed.  What has changed is that less law abiding civilians own assault weapons.  Fortunately the law expired in 2004, but Obama has said he wants to put new restrictions on assault weapons.

We can look at other famous dictatorships to observe how they felt about gun control.  One that quickly comes to mind is Adolf Hitler, who said;

“The most foolish mistake we could possibly make would be to allow the subject races to possess arms. History shows that all conquerors who have allowed their subject races to carry arms have prepared their own downfall by so doing. Indeed, I would go so far as to say that the supply of arms to the underdogs is a sine qua non for the overthrow of any sovereignty. So let’s not have any native militia or native police. German troops alone will bear the sole responsibility for the maintenance of law and order throughout the occupied Russian territories, and a system of military strong-points must be evolved to cover the entire occupied country.”

When he took power there were already gun registration laws in place, so he knew who owned guns.  In 1938 he made it illegal for Jews to own guns.  Many people say that this had nothing to do with the Holocaust, that most Jews didn’t own guns anyway and even if they had the outcome would have been the same.  That may be true.  It think it is irrelevant; the point is that governments are aware that unarmed people are easier to control (and, in some cases, slaughter by the million).  Think about countries like Uganda, Cambodia and Cuba, and the gun control laws they have there.  Or the Soviet Union and China in the 1930’s.  Critics argue that gun control does not lead to a dictatorship, and so these examples are irrelevant.  After all, countries like Japan and England have strict gun control laws, and they aren’t exterminating their citizens.  No, they are not.  I don’t think that anyone argues that gun control leads to dictatorships, simply that it makes them vastly easier to achieve.  Some people think that gun-rights activists are conspiratorial nuts, and we’re all stupid because obviously America is a  Democracy, so things like gun registration shouldn’t bother us.  Well, Hitler wasn’t running Germany when their gun registration laws were passed, and Castro wasn’t in charge in Cuba when they required gun registration.  It was later, after their gun rights had been chipped away at for years or decades, that someone came into power who took advantage of it.  And despite what anti-gun activists think, pro-gun activists are not conspiratorial nuts.  I think that America is a wonderful country.  I don’t think I will ever have to physically fight the American military for my freedom (nor would I want to, since they are significantly better armed than I could ever legally be).  But I deeply believe that it is infinitely better to be prepared and not need it, than to not be prepared and need it.  The founding fathers knew this.  They had personally, illegally, fought their government.  They were lucky they had the means to fight, and we have this great country today because they made that choice.  They wanted Americans to always have that choice.  Thus, the second amendment.

About whyimconservative

I'm a stay-at-home, homeschooling mom with a Biochemistry degree living in Austin. I love my kids, my husband and my country. I want to explain why I'm conservative.

Posted on July 5, 2011, in Gun Control and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. If guns were not good, governments would not use them.

  2. I have owned and been shooting guns since I was eight years old, and I credit my early realization of the responsibility of gun ownership and handling with a love for freedom coupled with responsibility going hand in hand.

    That said, I think I have just fallen madly, completely, head over heels in LOVE with whyimconservative herself!
    I have never heard such a well put, complete explanation of my exact reasons and feelings about guns before!
    Not even from myself to myself! You mirror every single reason I have in my heart and my head about my feelings on why guns are good and necessary as well for any semblance of freedom to exist in this country! The same feelings our founding fathers had. Ergo, the Second Amendment.
    If you weren’t already married, I’d fly to wherever you are and get down on one knee, and offer you the biggest diamond I could find tomorrow morning and ask you to marry me!
    I know I wouldn’t stand a chance, but I’d have to try anyway, because I know I’ve found the perfect woman!
    And if you said yes I could never say my wife doesn’t understand me!

    You are truly amazing and have you thought about running for President? I think you might just win…

    • I am so flattered! I’m thrilled to have a fan, and that I could provide you with thoughts you enjoyed. One of my first thoughts after reading your proposal is, if the SSM group has it their way and marriage becomes nothing more than a contract, soon polygamy will be legal and you might have a chance 😉 As for president… I’m afraid I don’t have the background, and I’m much to blunt. I call it honest, my husband calls it tactless, but neither trait has ever won a presidential election.

Leave a Reply

